Rapids Players Visit 14 Metro-Area Elementary Schools as Part of Team's 'School Assembly Program'

DENVER – (Colorado Rapids Media Relations) - The Colorado Rapids announced that they will begin a comprehensive Rapids School Assembly Program beginning this week that will run through April.

The team’s efforts include visits to over 14 elementary schools in the next three weeks. School visits will take place in local communities including Denver Commerce City and Aurora. The program began this past Monday at Columbian Elementary School in Denver.

At each school two Rapids players will lead the assembly and talk to students about the value of exercise and living a healthy lifestyle as well the importance of teamwork and sportsmanship. Players will also instruct students in basic and intermediate soccer skills through interactive demonstrations.

Following demonstrations students will have an opportunity to obtain player autographs and participate in a question and answer session.

Additional assemblies scheduled at this time include the following:

Tuesday January 19 – Archuleta Elementary
Wednesday January 20 – Southmoor Elementary
Thursday January 21 – Ashley Elementary
Monday January 24 – Bryant-Webster Elementary
Tuesday January 25 – Mitchell Elementary
Wednesday January 26 – Palmer Elementary
Thursday January 27 – Grant Ranch
Friday January 28 – Force Elementary
Monday January 31 – Newlon Elementary
Tuesday February 1 – Johnson Elementary
Wednesday February 2 – Gust Elementary
Thursday February 3 – Aurora Academy Charter School
Friday February 4 – Rose Hill Elementary

To learn more about the Rapids School Assembly Program or how your school can participate contact the Rapids at (303) 405-6141.