Colorado Sports HOF to honor Rapids

Rapids to be named Athletes of the Year at Hall of Fame banquet in April

This past week, the Colorado Rapids were informed that the team will be named the Athletes of the Year by the Colorado Sports Hall of Fame at the Induction and Awards Banquet held at the Denver Marriott City Center on April 12.

The Rapids won their first-ever MLS Cup in 2010 by defeating FC Dallas 2-1 in overtime at BMO Field in Toronto.

The six members of the 2011 Colorado Sports Hall of Fame class who will be inducted at the banquet that night are: longtime Denver Broncos placekicker Jason Elam, former Colorado Rockies outfielder Larry Walker, former CU and Broncos defensive lineman Alfred Williams, former President of the Colorado Rockies and All-American tight end at Colorado State Keli McGregor, race car legend Bobby Unser and Art Berglund for his contributions to the USA Hockey program.

The five other notable athletes from the state that will also be honored by the CSHOF are: Male Collegiate Athlete of the Year - Nate Solder (University of Colorado), Female Collegiate Athlete of the Year - Danielle Minch (Colorado State), Male Prep Athlete of the Year - Marco Gonzales (Rocky Mountain High School), Female Prep Athlete of the Year - Missy Franklin (Regis Jesuit High School), and Disabled Athlete Recognition Award Winner - Alana Nichols (NSCD ski team).

Citations for 2010 will also be awarded to 12 athletes around the state, ranging from high school to professional accomplishments.

The signature event of the Colorado Sports Hall of Fame, the Induction and Awards Banquet is held every spring and brings together around 800 people to celebrate the accomplishments of Colorado Athletes. Tickets for the 2011 banquet are available by contacting the CSHOF office at (720) 258-3535 or through