Red Bull Arena
Getty Images

Rapids at NY on May 26 for Open Cup berth

The Colorado Rapids will take on the New York Red Bulls in a final play-in match for qualification for America’s oldest sporting tournament – the 2010 Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup - on Wednesday, May 26 at 6:00 pm MT at Red Bull Arena.


Watch: LIVE (link will be live at kickoff)

Colorado advanced to this final qualifier behind a 2-1 win over the Kansas City Wizards on April 13, while New York earned their spot in the match with a 3-0 victory over the New England Revolution on May 12.

A total of 40 teams, including 23 professional and 17 amateur clubs, will compete in the 2010 Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup when it kicks off in June for the 97th consecutive year of the tournament.

The winner of the Colorado vs. New York play-in match will join seven other MLS teams that will enter the U.S. Open Cup in the Round of 16 (third round), which begins on June 29.

DC United and Real Salt Lake will meet in the other play-in match, with the winner also advancing. The six MLS teams that automatically qualified for the 2010 Open Cup based on their 2009 MLS regular season records are: Columbus, Los Angeles, Seattle, Chicago, Houston, and Chivas USA.

The quarterfinals will be played July 6-7, the semifinals will be played Aug. 31 or Sept. 1, and the final will be played Oct. 5.

The Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup, which is recognized as U.S. Soccer’s National Championship, is an annual competition open to all amateur and professional soccer teams affiliated with U.S. Soccer. The tournament has crowned a champion for 96 consecutive years dating back to 1914.

Colorado's last appearance in the U.S. Open Cup tournament was in 2007.

2010 Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup Schedule:

May 31: Qualifying Deadline
June 15: First Round: 32 lower division teams enter tournament
June 22: Second Round: 16 First Round winners face off
June 29: Third Round: Round 2 winners face eight MLS teams
July 6-7: Quarterfinals: Round 3 winners
Aug. 31-Sept. 1: Semifinals: Quarterfinal winners
Oct. 5: Final: Semifinal winners

Number of participating teams (by division):

8 - Major League Soccer (Division I)
9 - USSF D-2 Pro League (Division II)
6 - United Soccer Leagues Second Division (Division III)
8 - USL Premier Development League (Amateur)
8.5 - USASA (Amateur)
.5 - U.S. Club Soccer (Amateur)
Total Number of Teams: 40
Total Number of Games: 39