McManus Top 10 Semifinalist for MLS Goal of the Year!

COMMERCE CITY CO (Updated Nov. 6) - Tom McManus has made the cut for the final 10 players eligible to win the MLS Goal of the Year Award!
Cast your votes now to help McManus's colossal strike make it to the next round of voting!
Major League Soccer had previously announced that Colorado Rapids strikers Jacob Peterson and Tom McManus had both been named candidates to win the 2008 MLS Goal of the Year Award.
Voting is underway for the 2008 Sierra Mist Goal of the Year. Fans can now view video of the goals and vote online for the Rapids players to win the award for this season’s most remarkable goal by clicking here!
Fans may vote up to 10 times per day to determine the most remarkable goal of the 2008 regular season choosing from 35 goals including the 31 winners of the Sierra Mist Goal of the Week (from which McManus was nominated) as well as four additional nominees (including Peterson's strike).
McManus's nomination comes from his MLS Goal of the Week-winning strike from Week 9 of the season when he unleashed an absolute bomb of a goal from around 40 yards out against Chivas USA at Dick's Sporting Goods Park on May 24.
Peterson's nomination comes from his goal against DC United on May 4 at Dick's Sporting Goods Park when he blasted a terrific one-timed screamer past DC's 'keeper off a great feed from Christian Gomez. This goal didn't win Goal of the Week honors but was considered a fantastic enough score to make the list of nominees as one of the league's 4 other non-GOTW entries.
The Rapids have only won this award once previously when defender Marcelo Balboa took home the award in 2000 for his bicycle kick goal against Columbus that was widely hailed as "the greatest goal in MLS history".
The voting dates and deadlines are as follows:
1. Oct. 30 – Nov. 5 – Voting to select top 10 goals from original 35 nominees
2. Nov. 6 – Nov. 12 – Voting to select top five goals
3. Nov. 13 – Nov. 18 – Voting to select the 2008 Sierra Mist Goal of the Year from the top five goals
4. The Sierra Mist MLS Goal of the Year will be announced on Nov. 19 2008.
Past MLS Goal of the Year Winners:
2007: Cuauhtemoc Blanco – Chicago Fire vs. Real Salt Lake – August 18 2007
2006: Brian Ching – Houston Dynamo vs. D.C. United – September 30 2006
2005: Dwayne De Rosario – San Jose Earthquakes at Los Angeles Galaxy – October 15 2005
2004: Dwayne De Rosario – San Jose Earthquakes vs. D.C. United – August 2 2004
2003: Damani Ralph – Chicago Fire at Columbus Crew – August 13 2003
2002: Carlos Ruiz – Los Angeles Galaxy vs. Columbus Crew – July 27 2002
2001: Clint Mathis – MetroStars vs. Dallas Burn – April 28 2001
2000: Marcelo Balboa – Colorado Rapids at Columbus Crew – April 22 2000
1999: Marco Etcheverry – D.C. United at Miami Fusion – May 22 1999
1998: Brian McBride – Columbus Crew vs. Chicago Fire – July 9 1998
1997: Marco Etcheverry – D.C. United vs. New England Revolution – August 27 1997
1996: Eric Wynalda – San Jose Earthquakes vs. D.C. United – April 6 1996

The Colorado Rapids encourage all fans to take a minute to cast their 10 votes per day to help the Rapids win! Voting is free so vote today!