Rapids Announce List of Players Available for 2004 Expansion Draft

DENVER CO (11-17-04)- The Colorado Rapids announced today the team’s list of protected players for the 2004 Major League Soccer Expansion Draft that will take place on Friday November 19th and will be televised live on ESPNews at 2:00 p.m. MT.

The list of 12 protected players that was submitted to the league on Monday afternoon includes: goalkeeper Joe Cannon defenders Nat Borchers Ritchie Kotschau and Matt Crawford midfielders Pablo Mastroeni Chris Henderson Kyle Beckerman and Mark Chung as well as forward Jean Phillippe "Pedro" Peguero. The three senior internationals that the team had to protect to comply with MLS regulations were forwards Alberto Delgado and Zizi Roberts as well as midfielder Rey Ángel Martinez who will become a senior international as of January 1 2005.

"These are exciting times for the league and the sport of soccer in our country said Charlie Wright Governor of the Colorado Rapids. "The addition of our new great partners CD Chivas USA and Real Salt Lake is very important for our sport and will create opportunities for more players to compete at the highest level."

The Rapids were able to retain five players without having to add them to the protected list due to their current developmental player status. Those players are Ricky Lewis (Project-40) Jordan Cila (Developmental Player) Gary Sullivan (Developmental Player) Michael Erush (Developmental Player) and goalkeeper Byron Foss (Senior Developmental).

"It is a very difficult process to have to expose players that we consider important to the future of our team in order to comply with the League regulations for the Expansion Draft Wright added. "As an organization we never like to see our players go to other teams but we wish the best of luck to anyone that gets selected by any of the two new quality organizations that have joined the MLS family. We hope that most of our unprotected players will still be on the Rapids roster next season."

The list of six unprotected players includes defenders Antonio de la Torre Joey DiGiamarino and Jeff Stewart midfielder Seth Trembly goalkeeper Scott Vallow and senior international Darryl Powell.

Rapids Players Unprotected for the 2005 MLS Expansion Draft:
D- Antonio de la Torre
M- Joey DiGiamarino
M- Darryl Powell (SI)
D- Jeff Stewart
M- Seth Trembly
GK- Scott Vallow

(To view the entire list of all MLS teams' unprotected players as well as interesting statistics compiled by the Rapids click here).

Senior international John Spencer does not appear in any of the above lists due to the fact that he recently announced his retirement. A player that has indicated his retirement has been removed by the League from the team’s roster.

Following are the rules regulating the 2005 Expansion Draft that will be aired live on ESPNews on Friday November 19th at 2:00 p.m. (MT)

2005 Expansion Draft

-The 2005 Expansion draft will be 10 rounds
-Each MLS team shall be allowed to protect 12 Senior Roster players
-Each MLS team may leave unprotected only one Senior International
-An MLS team may lose no more than three (3) players during the Expansion Draft
-After a player has been selected from an existing team such team shall have the right to protect an additional player.

For the complete list of MLS Rules and Regulations regarding Friday's Expansion Draft click here

For complete information on the Rapids' protected and unprotected players including bios and most updated stats click on the "TEAM" tab and then select "PLAYERS AND STATISTICS" on the top of this webpage.