Joseph Nane vs Houston Reserves, March 13, 2012
Nigel Brooks / Houston Dynamo

Reserves fall in Houston 1-0 in opener

The Colorado Rapids lost their first game of the 2012 MLS Reserve League a 1-0 win to the Houston Dynamo Tuesday morning at the Houston Amateur Sports Park. Dynamo rookie Brian Ownby scored the game's only goal in the 80th minute to break the deadlock.

The game's best early scoring chance came in the 23rd minute to Colorado. Right back Eddie Ababio and forward Andre Akpan combined for a one-two combination that resulted in an Ababio shot off the right post.

Dynamo goalkeeper Tyler Deric made five saves for the game, including one in the 40th minute from a long-range blast from trialist Luis Eduardo "Edu" Schmidt. Deric did well to knock down the 30-yard strike and pounce on the rebound before a Rapids player could reach the ball.

The Rapids had the bulk of the offensive chances as the home side was unable to muster much offense. The Rapids outshot the Dynamo 15-8. Houston midfielder Alex Dixon nearly broke the scoreless tie in the 77th minute when he picked up a loose ball and shot from 30 yards out, but his attempt sailed over the crossbar.

The Dynamo finally took the lead in the 80th minute off their first corner kick of the match. The attempt was cleared to Warren Creavalle who found an open Jermaine Taylor in the box. Taylor’s left-footed strike was stopped by second-half goalkeeper Ian Joyce but Ownby snuck through to send home the rebound.

The Rapids Reserves next host FC Dallas on March 20 at noon at Dick's Sporting Goods Park.

Colorado Rapids (0-1-0) vs. Houston Dynamo (1-0-0)
March 13, 2012 – Houston Amateur Sports Park, Houston, TX
MLS Reserve League -- Central/Mountain Division

Scoring Summary:
HOU – Brian Ownby 1 (unassisted) 80

Colorado Rapids – Stew Ceus (Ian Joyce 46), Eddie Ababio, Tyrone Marshall, Scott Palguta, Dillon Serna (Steven Emory 62), Wells Thompson, Joseph Nane, Luis Eduardo Schmidt (Davy Armstrong 89), Ross La Bauex, Quincy Amarikwa (Josh Janniere), Andre Akpan (Kohei Yamada 80).

Houston Dynamo -- Tyler Deric, Warren Creavalle, Nathan Sturgis, Jermaine Taylor, Oscar Recio, Josue Soto (Colin Rolfe 69), Luiz Camargo, Alex Dixon, Mac Kandji, Calen Carr (Brian Ownby 69), Cam Weaver.
Substitutes Not Used: Alan Arellano, Christian Gonzalez, Erich Marscheider.

Misconduct Summary:
29’ Joseph Nane – caution (reckless tackle)

All statistics contained in this boxscore are unofficial