Dillon Powers Rookie of the Year

In Good Company: Powers joins special group of MLS Rookies of the Year

Dillon Power joins some solid company as the latest MLS Rookie of the Year. Previous winners include the League's all-time leader in games played (Ralston), current MLS coaches (Olsen, Heaps, Ralston), U.S. National Team World Cup veterans Bocanegra, Dempsey, Bornstein, and Edu, and others who have also had stints in overseas such as Ralph, Parkhurst, and Najar.

Below are the past MLS Rookies of the Year:

1996: Steve Ralston – Tampa Bay Mutiny
1997: Mike Duhaney – Tampa Bay Mutiny
1998: Ben Olsen – D.C. United
1999: Jay Heaps – Miami Fusion
2000: Carlos Bocanegra – Chicago Fire
2001: Rodrigo Faria – MetroStars
2002: Kyle Martino – Columbus Crew
2003: Damani Ralph – Chicago Fire
2004: Clint Dempsey – New England Revolution
2005: Michael Parkhurst – New England Revolution
2006: Jonathan Bornstein – Chivas USA
2007: Maurice Edu – Toronto FC
2008: Sean Franklin – LA Galaxy
2009: Omar Gonzalez – LA Galaxy
2010: Andy Najar – D.C. United
2011: C.J. Sapong – Sporting Kansas City
2012: Austin Berry – Chicago Fire


Saturday, September 16