Marvell Wynne blue kit
USA Today Sports Images

San Jose Earthquakes select Marvell Wynne in 2nd Stage of MLS Re-Entry Draft

Marvel Wynne was one of eight players selected Thursday in Stage 2 of the Major League Soccer Re-Entry Draft. Wynne, who spent five seasons with Colorado, was selected by the San Jose Earthquakes.

The Earthquakes and Houston Dynamo were the most active teams in the draft, each selecting two players. Along with Wynne, the ‘Quakes picked up winger Sanna Nyassi, while Houston selected striker Chandler Hoffman and journeyman midfielder Nathan Sturgis.

Wynne, 28, the first pick in the 2006 MLS Super Draft, was a member of Colorado’s 2010 MLS Cup champion squad. He previously played for Toronto FC and the New York Red Bulls.

With the first pick in today’s draft, Montreal selected Bakary Soumare, a former MLS Best XI selection in 2008. The 29-year-old Soumare, played five of his seven MLS seasons with the Chicago Fire, but also has experience in France and Germany.

Other clubs making selections were FC Dallas (forward Atiba Harris) who returns to the club he played for from 2009-2010, which included a starting assignment in the 2010 MLS Cup final. The New England Revolution chose forward Tristan Bowen, while expansion club Orlando City SC picked Josh Ford, a former backup goalkeeper for Seattle.

No other MLS clubs made selections in the draft. According to league rules, teams will have seven days to make offers to the players they selected. If an agreement cannot be reached, the club will hold the right of first refusal for that player in MLS. Any players not picked up after Stage 2 become available to any MLS club on a first-come, first-served basis.

Nyassi, 25, has played for four teams since his MLS career began in 2009 – Seattle, Colorado, Montreal and Chicago. His best year came with the Rapids in 2011, when he scored five goals and added five assists in 26 appearances.

MLS Re-Entry Draft Stage 2 Selections

Montreal Impact – Bakary Soumare (D) 
San Jose Earthquakes – Marvell Wynne (D), Sanna Nyassi (MF) 
Houston Dynamo – Chandler Hoffman (F), Nathan Sturgis (MF) 
FC Dallas – Atiba Harris (F/MF) 
New England Revolution – Tristan Bowen (F) 
Orlando City SC – Josh Ford (GK)