8.6.22_Rapids_Ellwood_3620-2

Michael Harris

Age: 19

Birthplace: County Donegal, Ireland

Position: Striker/Winger

College/Former Club: Derry City F.C.

Q: Tell us a little bit about your soccer journey.

“My dad took me down to a team called Convoy Arsenal, like the local team, when I was about six or seven and I just played there for two years. I went down to Kildrum Tigers and played there for two years and then that got me into Derry City. I had been there for five years and then I came here.”

Q: Tell us a little about your personal journey outside of soccer.

“My family is pretty close. I have a little brother and my mom and my dad. My dad has five brothers and sisters. Every Friday night, we will all go to my granny’s house and we will eat fish and chips and play some music and have the crack. Growing up in Ireland, it wasn’t comparable to here. It was always wet and you couldn’t go outside much. It was nice playing football in Ireland. The community I live in is very nice, the people are very nice. The place I live in is more like the countryside, so it was not very busy. It is nice and peaceful.”

Q: What is the biggest difference between soccer in America and soccer in Ireland?

“In Ireland, it is a lot more direct and over the top. They are not really technical. It is really gritty, so it would be a lot of hard tackles. Here it is more technical and more thinking, more tame and more passing.”

Michael

Q: Why did you choose to pursue a career in soccer?

“When I was 18, I was entering the first team at Derry City. I was getting some money here and there and I was like, ‘This is crazy’. I was like, ‘This would be a good way to live’ and it is. Now that I am here, it is a dream come true. I don’t see myself being a doctor or anything like that, I just love playing football.”

Q: Outside of soccer, what are some of your hobbies?

“I like going to the pool. I like doing a little bit of traveling. I love going to the beach when I am home. I spend a lot of time with my family and my friends as well. I also like to stay home and watch movies and go to the cinema and stuff like that.”

Q: Who is your biggest inspiration on the pitch?

“Probably Neymar. Just the way he plays. He is not afraid to take on players and he rarely turns his back. He is always going forward. He is doing tricks that not many other people can do.”

Q: Who is your biggest inspiration off of the pitch?

“Probably my mom and my dad. They give nothing but love to me. I feel like when you have that type of love, you know you can do anything. My mom always says that I can always come home if it doesn’t work out. It is nice to have that there and you are not scared to do anything when you have that type of love around you. Coming here, it was kind of tough. I am not going to lie. I rang my dad a couple of nights. They came here for two weeks and it was lovely to see them. Afterwards, it gave me a boost in confidence a wee bit. They saw me play and they saw me score a penalty and it was a great end to the trip. It made me realize how much I appreciate them and how much more I can do playing football.”

Harris Family

Q: How would you describe your style of play on the field?

“I think I am very direct and hardworking. I am like a bumblebee, just buzzing about the place.”

Q: What would you say your lifestyle is like off the pitch?

“I would say I am fairly laid back. I don’t do much. I am a big movie guy. I love watching movies like Marvel movies. That is my favorite stuff. I like to go out and eat at new places I have never tried before. I like to explore as well sometimes. Off the pitch, I am kind and very happy. I am not really down and stuff. On the pitch, I like to think I am a motivator to all the players. I try to see the best when I am on the pitch. I like to keep it positive.”

Q: What is your go to pre match/pre training meal?

“If the match is early enough, I eat eggs and toast and put ketchup on the eggs. I also like chicken and rice and fruit.”

Q: What is your favorite cheat meal?

“My cheat meal is Chick-fil-A. I like a good Freddy’s milkshake as well. At home, my granny made shepherd's pie. It is so nice.”

Q: Give me three words to describe Michael the soccer player.

“Hardworking. Dedicated. Positive.”

Q: Give me three words to describe Michael the person.

“Honest. Kind. Fun.”

a8d33673-ab66-43e1-9221-ed1a8131bd96

Q: Do you have any game day/training routines or superstitions?

“I always put on my left sock first before my right and my left boot before my right. I tie my left boot before my right boot. When I walk on the field, I always step on with my right foot first over the line, not my left.”

Q: What does your day look like on an off day?

“I like to go downtown, go to the pool, play some basketball. Stuff like that.”

Q: What does wearing the Rapids 2 badge mean to you?

“It means a lot. Coming here from Ireland, there is a community here in Colorado. They love the Rapids. Even just wearing the badge down to the shop or wearing it to the store, people are like ‘Oh my god’. It is crazy. I am proud to wear it because of all of the people who support us from the community.”

Q: Do you have a badge in your personal life that represents who you are as a person? Ex: family crest, tattoo, meaningful item/symbol.

“On my back, I have an angel tattoo. The two wings of the angel represent my grandads. They passed away. My grandad Harris was a big family man. He loved the family he had. My grandad Wasson, he was very hard working. He never took a day off and always provided for his family.”