Press Releases

Colorado Rapids Announce Roster Moves Ahead of 2021 Season


COMMERCE CITY, Colo. — The Colorado Rapids announced today several roster updates ahead of the 2021 Major League Soccer season. The club exercised contract options on three players, which in addition to 23 contracts guaranteed for next season, currently brings the Rapids roster to 26 players heading into 2021.

The Rapids picked up the contract options of defenders Sam Vines and Jeremy Kelly and forward Andre Shinyashiki. 

Defenders Drew Moor and Steven Beitashour have signed new one-year contracts with the club, while goalkeeper Clint Irwin, defender Danny Wilson and midfielder Collen Warner have all signed new two-year deals.

The Rapids declined the contract options of defenders Abdul Rwatubyaye and Deklan Wynne and forward Niki Jackson. Additionally, goalkeeper William Yarbrough’s loan from Liga MX side Club León has expired. The club is currently in discussions with León to bring the U.S. International back to Colorado.

Players under contract for 2021 (23): Lalas Abubakar, Kellyn Acosta, Sebastian Anderson, Cole Bassett, Steven Beitashour, Nicolas Benezet, Kortne Ford, Braian Galván, Matt Hundley, Clint Irwin, Jonathan Lewis, Nicolás Mezquida, Drew Moor, Younes Namli, Jack Price, Andre Rawls, Abraham Rodriguez, Keegan Rosenberry, Diego Rubio, Auston Trusty, Will Vint, Collen Warner, Danny Wilson

Option exercised (3): Jeremy Kelly, Andre Shinyashiki, Sam Vines

Option declined (3):  Niki Jackson, Abdul Rwatubyaye, Deklan Wynne

Loan expired (1): William Yarbrough

2021 COLORADO RAPIDS ROSTER (as ofMonday, Dec.14, 2020)

Goalkeepers (3): Clint Irwin, Andre Rawls, Abraham Rodriguez

Defenders (10): Lalas Abubakar, Sebastian Anderson, Steven Beitashour, Kortne Ford, Jeremy Kelly, Drew Moor, Keegan Rosenberry, Auston Trusty, Sam Vines, Danny Wilson

Midfielders (8): Kellyn Acosta, Cole Bassett, Braian Galván, Nicolás Mezquida, Younes Namli, Jack Price, Will Vint, Collen Warner

Forwards (5): Nicolas Benezet, Matt Hundley, Jonathan Lewis, Diego Rubio, Andre Shinyashiki

TRANSACTIONS: Colorado Rapids sign defenders Drew Moor and Steven Beitashour to one-year contracts; goalkeeper Clint Irwin, defender Danny Wilson and midfielder Collen Warner to two-year contracts on December 14, 2020.