Colorado Rapids

Colorado Rapids announce year-end roster updates


COMMERCE CITY, Colo. — The Colorado Rapids today announced several roster updates ahead of the 2023 Major League Soccer season. The club exercised contract options on six players, bringing the club’s roster to 22 players heading into 2023.

The Rapids exercised the contract options for forwards Diego Rubio and Michael Barrios, midfielder Oliver Larraz, defenders Aboubacar Keita and Anthony Markanich and goalkeeper Abraham Rodriguez, while declining the contract options for midfielder Philip Mayaka and defenders Michael Edwards and Steven Beitashour. Additionally, forward Gyasi Zardes and goalkeeper Clint Irwin are out of contract, while the loans of midfielder Felipe Gutiérrez and defender Lucas Esteves are set to expire at the end of the year; the league has until December 1 to exercise the buy option on Esteves’ loan. Colorado remains in discussions with Zardes, Gutiérrez, Beitashour and Edwards over a potential return for the 2023 season.

Players under contract for 2023 (22): Lalas Abubakar, Bryan Acosta, Max Alves, Sebastian Anderson, Michael Barrios, Braian Galván, Aboubacar Keita, Oliver Larraz, Jonathan Lewis, Anthony Markanich, Sam Nicholson, Jack Price, Ralph Priso, Abraham Rodriguez, Keegan Rosenberry, Diego Rubio, Dantouma “Yaya” Toure, Gustavo Vallecilla, Collen Warner, Danny Wilson, Darren Yapi, William Yarbrough

Option exercised (6): Michael Barrios, Aboubacar Keita, Oliver Larraz, Anthony Markanich, Abraham Rodriguez, Diego Rubio

Out of contract (2): Clint Irwin, Gyasi Zardes

Loan expired (2): Lucas Esteves, Felipe Gutiérrez

Option declined (2): Steven Beitashour, Michael Edwards, Philip Mayaka

2022 COLORADO RAPIDS ROSTER (as of Nov. 10, 2022)

Goalkeepers (2): Abraham Rodriguez, William Yarbrough

Defenders (7): Lalas Abubakar, Sebastian Anderson, Aboubacar Keita, Anthony Markanich, Keegan Rosenberry, Gustavo Vallecilla, Danny Wilson

Midfielders (7): Bryan Acosta, Max Alves, Braian Galván, Oliver Larraz, Jack Price, Ralph Priso, Collen Warner

Forwards (6): Michael Barrios, Jonathan Lewis, Sam Nicholson, Diego Rubio, Dantouma “Yaya” Toure, Darren Yapi

Stay up to date with all offseason player moves and news on our official Transaction Tracker.