Rapids Earn Draw on Independence Day

Commerce City CO (Wednesday July 4 2007)- The Colorado Rapids earned their second consecutive point tonight in a 0-0 draw with the Columbus Crew in front of a sold-out crowd of 18068 at Dick’s Sporting Goods Park.

(To watch video highlights from this match click here).

With the result Colorado continue with an eight-year undefeated streak on games played on July 4th and set their record on America’s Independence Day at 10-1-1.

The Rapids’ first scoring opportunity came in the third minute. Defender Ugo Ihemelu headed a Terry Cooke corner kick over the crossbar.

A minute later Jovan Kirovski ran onto a Jacob Peterson through ball and sent a cross to the far post. Niko Hernandez was unable to connect with Kirovski’s cross on the far side of the penalty area.

On the other end of the pitch in the 27th minute Colin Clark kept the game scoreless. Bouna Coundoul was tripped as he went to grab a corner kick. The ball bounced to the back post where Alejandro Moreno’s shot was only saved by a leaping Clark.

In the 29th minute Hernandez took his first shot on goal of the game. After dribbling to the top of the penalty area the Argentine’s left footed effort was stopped by goalie Will Hesmer.

In the 50th minute Clark came close to his first MLS goal. After collecting a poor clearance in the penalty area he unleashed a left footed shot that went just over Hesmer’s crossbar.

Coundoul preserved his shutout in the 85th minute when he stoned Jacob Thomas from close range.

Moments later the Senegalese goalkeeper started a promising Rapids counter attack courtesy of Omar Cummings Hernandez and Jacob Peterson.

The Rapids return to action this Sunday July 8 against the New York Red Bulls at Dick’s Sporting Goods Park. The game will be broadcast live by Altitude and will kickoff at 6 p.m. MT. Tickets are available by calling the Rapids at (303) 825-GOAL.

Colorado Rapids Man of the Match: Daniel Wasson
Scoring Summary:


Colorado Rapids – Bouna Coundoul Dan Gargan Facundo Erpen Ugo Ihemelu Brandon Prideaux Terry Cooke (Nico Colaluca 73) Daniel Wasson Jovan Kirovski Colin Clark (Omar Cummings 81) Nicolas Hernandez Jacob Peterson
Substitutes Not Used: Zach Thornton Stephen Keel Jose Cancela Roberto Brown Nick LaBrocca
Columbus Crew – Will Hesmer Frankie Hejduk Rusty Pierce Marcos Gonzalez Chad Marshall Danny O’Rourke Gillermo Schelotto (Andy Herron 76) Ned Grabavoy Ezra Hendrickson (Stefani Miglioranzi 68) Alejandro Moreno Kei Kamara (Jacob Thomas 59)
Substitutes Not Used: Andy Grenebaum Andrew Peterson Ted Zayner Jason Garey
Misconduct Summary:
COL - Erpen (Caution) 71
Referee: Kevin Stott
Referees Assts.: Craig Lowry Jose Corro
Fourth Official: Ben Chouaf
Attendance: 18086 (Sell-out)