David Ferreira, FC Dallas
Getty Images

MLS unveils list of 68 eligible players for December Re-Entry Process

NEW YORK (December 9, 2013) – Major League Soccer today announced the list of players eligible for participation in the 2013 MLS Re-Entry Process. The Colorado Rapids have three players who are eligible to enter: Stew Ceus, who the club has parted ways with, and veteran midfielders Brian Mullan and Jamie Smith, whose futures are still being determined.

Clubs may still sign their Re-Entry Process-eligible players through 5 p.m. ET on December 11. Additionally, eligible players may opt out of the Re-Entry Process between now and 5 p.m. ET on December 11.

Among the notable players eligible are FC Dallas' Kenny Cooper and David Ferreira, Seattle's Steve Zakuani and Mauro Rosales, Toronto's Bobby Convey, and LA's Sean Franklin.

The Stage One draft of the Re-Entry Process will take place on Thursday, December 12 at 3 p.m. ET and the Stage Two draft will take place on Wednesday, December 18 at 3 p.m. ET. The two drafts will take place via teleconference with all 19 clubs represented. MLS will release the results following each of the calls.

Both Stage One and Stage Two drafts will be conducted in the same order as the traditional Waiver Draft. The Rapids hold the 11th pick.

Clubs must exercise the option for, or extend a Bona Fide Offer to, all players selected in Stage One. Players that were out of contract may either accept or reject the Bona Fide Offer. Should a player reject the offer, the drafting club will hold the right of first refusal for that player in MLS. Players with option years left on their contract will automatically be added to the drafting club’s roster.

  • CLICK HERE for Re-Entry Process information and player eligibility rules

A Burgundy Affair

Tuesday, October 17