Rapids Academy defender Quentin Pearson

Rapids Academy in Generation adidas Cup in Dallas

The Colorado Rapids open their participation in the Generation adidas Cup 2014 on Tuesday afternoon in Dallas, with the club’s youth team taking on the New York Red Bulls at 4pm CT / 3pm MT. The tournament, which is made up of Academy players born Jan. 1, 1997 or later, will include all MLS clubs as well as three international teams.

The Rapids Academy squad, under coach Mitch Murray, will play in Group A of the International Division, which includes the Seattle Sounders and storied Brazilian club Flamengo, in addition to New York. A complete schedule of the team’s group stage matches is below.

Colorado was among nine MLS sides that qualified for the International Division of the tournament, by virtue of a third-place finish in the qualifying tournaments held late last year and early in 2014. The Rapids earned a record of 2-1-2 (W-L-T), beating RSL and Houston, tying Chicago and Kansas City, and losing to FC Dallas. Those events took place last October here at Dick’s Sporting Goods Park and in February at Casa Grande, Arizona.

A full preview of the tournament can be found here, which mentions Rapids Academy defender Quentin Pearson, also a member of the United States U-18 National Team, as one of the 'Players to Watch'. The Rapids’ roster for the tournament is also below.

Stay tuned to www.ColoradoRapids.com, as well as the Rapids on Twitter and Facebook, for updates on the team’s efforts in Dallas.

Group A (International Division)

Tuesday, April 15
Rapids vs. New York Red Bulls
4pm CT / 2pm MT

Wednesday, April 16
Rapids vs. Flamengo
Time TBD (Rescheduled from 4/14)

Thursday, April 17
Rapids vs. Seattle Sounders
4pm CT / 2pm MT

Colorado Rapids Roster

#             NAME                 
36           Nathan Braaten
37           Miles Chow
38           Kyle Ericson
31           Connor Gavigan
39           JT Grover
41           Elias Helbig
34           William Hertzl
52           Luke Marchesani
42           Blake Moncur
32           Elijah Mwenebitu
33           Quentin Pearson
43           Samuel Raben
44           Ernesto Rangel
48           Chris Reichman
46           Anthony Rosales
47           Antonio Rosales
30           Tucker Schneider
45           Greer Solarte
73           Sam Vines