Colorado Rapids

Recap | Four players make club debuts in Rapids' 2024 season opener against Portland 


The Colorado Rapids fell to the Portland Timbers to open the 2024 season on Saturday night, playing to a 4-1 result at Providence Park. Seven Colorado Homegrowns featured in the Rapids’ lineup for the first match, including returning Sam Vines, Oliver Larraz, whose start marked his first in MLS, and Jackson Travis, who came off the bench in the second half to make his MLS debut.

Offseason signings Djordje Mihailovic, Zack Steffen and Omir Fernandez all made their Rapids debuts in the season-opening matchup.

The Timbers got on the scoreboard first with a pair of goals from Eryk Williamson and Antony in the ninth and 14th minutes, respectively.

Antony added another for Portland in the 29th minute and the sides went into halftime at 4-0 after Colorado suffered an own goal in stoppage time.

The Rapids held more possession and controlled their attack in the second half, starting with a long-range shot from captain Keegan Rosenberry that sailed high of the goal in the 46th minute. Midfielder Cole Bassett recorded three shots of his own on the night, including a free kick taken inches outside the box that barely cleared the crossbar.

Striker Calvin Harris found the breakthrough in the 55th minute, opening the Rapids’ 2024 account with a set-piece header off a corner taken by Connor Ronan. Harris recorded four goals across three games in Colorado’s preseason stint in preparation for the season opener.

The Rapids were unable to close the gap further in the second half, finishing at 4-1 at Providence Park. They return home to DICK’S Sporting Goods Park on Saturday, March 2 for a home opener against Nashville SC.

Final Score

Portland Timbers FC - 4

Colorado Rapids - 1

Scoring Summary

POR: Eryk Williamson 9’

POR: Antony 14’

POR: Antony 29’

POR: Own Goal 45+5'

COL: Calvin Harris 55’


Starting XI

Zack Steffen, Sam Vines, Moïse Bombito, Andreas Maxsø, Keegan Rosenberry (C), Connor Ronan, Oliver Larraz, Cole Bassett, Djordje Mihailovic, Calvin Harris, Rafael Navarro


Adam Beaudry, Lalas Abubakar, Sebastian Anderson, Jasper Löffelsend, Kévin Cabral, Omir Fernandez, Jonathan Lewis, Darren Yapi

Postgame Press Conferences