Colorado Rapids

Recap | Rapids earn first win of season against Rocky Mountain rivals RSL, 2-1


The Colorado Rapids earned their first win of the 2024 season in triumphant fashion, putting together a 2-1 performance against longtime rivals Real Salt Lake in a heated first leg of the Rocky Mountain Cup, subduing a raucous, sold-out crowd in Sandy, Utah.

The Rapids defense stood firm against RSL's early attacks. However, Salt Lake managed to break the deadlock in the 22nd minute with midfielder Emeka Eneli's goal.

The Rapids furious comeback began in the 44th minute with Brazilian forward Rafael Navarro converting a penalty kick to send both sides into halftime knotted at one goal apiece.

Making his 100th appearance for the club, Homegrown midfielder Cole Bassett provided the difference-maker at the 70th minute with a bullet past RSL ‘keeper Gavin Beavers to put the Burgundy and Blue up, 2-1.

Crucial saves from goalkeeper Zack Steffen and a steadfast backline, highlighted by Andreas Maxsø and Moïse Bombito, thwarted off dangerous attacks from the opposition to serve RSL its first home loss of the season.

In his first Rocky Mountain Cup matchup at the helm for the Rapids, Head Coach Chris Armas led the squad to only its fifth win in enemy territory and 16th overall in the series. The 2-1 victory also marked Armas’ first win since taking over the program, bringing the team to four points in three games, two of which were on the road.

Other notables from the night included Jasper Löffelsend making his Rapids debut against his former team, subbing on for Connor Ronan early in the game, as well as Omir Fernandez earning his first start in Burgundy.

The Rapids go back on the road next weekend, taking on the Seattle Sounders FC at Lumen Field on March 16 at 1:30 p.m. MT.

Final Score

COL – 2

RSL – 1

Scoring Summary

RSL: Eneli 22’

COL: Navarro 43’

COL: Bassett 70’


Starting XI

Zack Steffen, Keegan Rosenberry (C), Sam Vines, Andreas Maxsø, Moïse Bombito, Omir Fernandez, Oliver Larraz, Connor Ronan, Cole Bassett, Rafael Navarro, Djordje Mihailovic


Adam Beaudry, Lalas Abubakar, Jonathan Lewis, Calvin Harris, Jasper Löffelsend, Sebastian Anderson, Darren Yapi, Kévin Cabral, Jackson Travis