No Rapids Players Selected in 2008 MLS Expansion Draft

COMMERCE CITY CO (Updated 11/26/08) – No Colorado Rapids players were selected in today's 2008 MLS Expansion Draft by the Seattle Sounders.
Seattle did add 10 players to their roster from around the league to increase their roster to 14 players; for the full list and selection order from today's Expansion Draft click here.
Seattle could not claim more than one player from any given team in MLS and selected 10 players meaning that four teams would not have a player taken in the Expansion Draft.
Along with the Rapids the other 3 teams that did not have players selected were DC United Chivas USA and FC Dallas.
Seattle Sounders FC Major League Soccer's 15th team will begin play in the Western Conference in the 2009 season at Qwest Field in Seattle.
On Monday the Colorado Rapids had announced their list of 11 protected players for the 2008 MLS Expansion Draft which took place Wednesday November 26 at 11 a.m. MT.
With Seattle Sounders F.C. the newest expansion club entering the league for next season each team in MLS was forced to make a certain amount of their players available for the draft.
Below is a list of each club's list of available players for Wednesday's Expansion Draft.
Goalkeeper: Bouna Coundoul
Defenders: Cory Gibbs Ugo Ihemelu
Midfielders: Mehdi Ballouchy Colin Clark Christian Gomez Nick LaBrocca Pablo Mastroeni Jacob Peterson
Forwards: Conor Casey Omar Cummings
In addition to this list Rapids midfielders Nico Colaluca and Ciaran O’Brien are automatically protected by the Rapids due to their Generation adidas status.
The remaining players on the Rapids roster are therefore available for selection in the Expansion Draft.
Goalkeepers: Preston Burpo Justin Hughes
Defenders: Jose Burciaga Jr. Facundo Erpen Jordan Harvey Stephen Keel Kosuke Kimura Mike Petke Kwame Sarkodie Tim Ward Cesar Zambrano
Midfielders: Terry Cooke Greg Dalby John DiRaimondo Brian Grazier
Forwards: Tom McManus
Senior Roster
• Teams may protect 11 players between their Senior and their Developmental Roster.
• If the Player’s contract expires at the end of 2008 he will still be considered part of the team’s Senior Roster.
• If a team protects a player it is not obligated to exercise the player’s option. The team may renegotiate a new budget number for the player as in previous years.
• If a player retires he will not be a part of the Senior Roster but his team will lose its right of first refusal to him should he ultimately decide to play.
Developmental Roster
• Players on a team’s Developmental Roster other than Generation adidas players who have not been graduated at the end of the 2008 season will be part of the expansion draft.
• Generation adidas players who have not been graduated at the end of the 2008 season are automatically protected (teams do not have to protect them).
• If Seattle Sounders FC select a Developmental Player they must offer him a Senior Roster position and he must be on Seattle’s Senior Roster as of Roster Compliance Date.
International Players
• Teams are restricted in the number of international player(s) that they may make available per the table set forth below.
• For purposes of this expansion process for U.S.-based teams any non-domestic U.S. player would count as an International and for Toronto FC any non-domestic U.S. player or non-domestic Canadian player would count as an International.
Designated Players
• Designated Players do not have to be protected unless the player has a no trade clause in which case he must be protected.
Maximum Player Loss
• Once a player has been claimed from a team’s non-protected roster that team is eliminated from the expansion draft and may not lose any further players.
Right to Renegotiate
• Seattle will have the right to renegotiate a drafted player’s salary (either up or down) without having to place such player on waivers or giving his previous team a right of first refusal.
• On the first day of the Discovery/Allocation Period Seattle will have priority over players who played professionally in the USL First or Second Division in 2008 subject to another MLS team’s right of first refusal.
• The expansion draft will be 10 rounds.
• Teams may make available a number of international players equal to their total number of international players minus 3 provided that if a team has 3 or less international players it may make available not more than 1.
Chivas USA
Kraig Chiles Jim Curtin Eric Ebert Dejair Ferreira Jorge Flores Anthony Hamilton Dan Kennedy Gerson Mayen Roberto Nurse Daniel Paladini Lance Parker Ante Razov Keith Savage Claudio Suarez Carey Talley Zach Thornton Lawson Vaughn Sasha Victorine Raphael Wicky Alex Zotinca
Chicago Fire
Michael Banner C.J. Brown Calen Carr Tomasz Frankowski Andy Herron Kai Kasiguran John Kettering Stephen King Peter Lowry Lider Marmol Nick Noble Pablo Marco Pappa Brandon Prideaux Austin Washington Daniel Woolard
Colorado Rapids
Jose Burciaga Jr. Preston Burpo Terry Cooke Greg Dalby John DiRaimondo Facundo Erpen Brian Grazier Jordan Harvey Justin Hughes Stephen Keel Kosuke Kimura Tom McManus Mike Petke Kwame Sarkodie Tim Ward Cesar Zambrano
Columbus Crew
Kevin Burns Cory Elenio Brad Evans Jason Garey Eddie Gaven Andy Gruenebaum George Josten Ryan Junge Steven Lenhart Stefani Miglioranzi Adam Moffat Pat Noonan Stanley Nyazamba Duncan Oughton Andrew Peterson Ricardo Pierre-Louis Brian Plotkin Kenny Schoeni
FC Dallas
Ray Burse Andrew Daniels Duilio Davino Michael Dello-Russo Aaron Pitchkolan Jeff Rowland Victor Sikora Spencer Wadsworth David Wagenfuhr Jamie Watson Chase Wileman
D.C. United
Jeff Carroll Pat Carroll Ryan Cordeiro Louis Crayton Francis Doe Rod Dyachenko Marcelo Gallardo Ouavas Kirk Ibrahim Koroma Gonzalo Martinez Domenic Mediate Ryan Miller Ben Olsen Gonzalo Peralta Craig Thompson James Thorpe Joseph Vide Zach Wells Michael Zaher
Houston Dynamo
Johnny Alcaraz Corey Ashe Wade Barrett Kyle Brown Tony Caig Michael Chabala Nick Hatzke John Michael Hayden Patrick Ianni Nate Jaqua Richard Mulrooney Pat Onstad Erik Ustruck Craig Waibel Corbin Waller Chris Wondolowski Stephen Wondolowski
Kansas City Wizards
Kevin Hartman Aaron Hohlbein Michael Kraus Eric Kronberg Matt Marquess Rauwshan McKenzie Kurt Morsink Boris Pardo Nelson Pizarro Ryan Pore Abe Thompson Ivan Trujillo Tyson Wahl Lance Watson
L.A. Galaxy
Vardan Adzemian Charles Alamo Ely Allen Jeremy Barlow Steve Cronin Eduardo Dominguez Joe Franchino Michael Gavin Jovan Kirovski Chris Klein Mike Munoz Michael Randolph Josh Saunders Josh Tudela Peter Vagenas Julian Valentin Josh Wicks
New England Revolution
Jose Angulo Gabriel Badilla Samuel Brill Gary Flood Joe Germanese Brad Knighton Brandon Manzonelli Mauricio Matamoros Pat Phelan Khano Smith Wells Thompson Chris Tierney Brandon Tyler Doug Warren Argenis Fernandez Zapata
New York Red Bulls
Danleigh Borman Oscar Echeverry John Gilkerson Diego Jimenez Gordon Kljestan Chris Leitch Mike Magee Andongcho Mbuta Carlos Mendes Michael Palacio Jeff Parke Caleb Patterson Juan Pietravallo David Roth Sainey Touray John Wolyniec Terry Boss Andrew Boyens Gabriel Cichero
Real Salt Lake
Nik Besagno Kenny Cutler Kenneth Deuchar David Horst Ian Joy Dustin Kirby Dema Kovalenko Clint Mathis Tino Nunez Kevin Reiman Kyle Reynish Nathan Sturgis Brennan Tennelle Andy Williams
San Jose Earthquakes
Miguel Arce Michael Jay Ayres John Cunliffe Eric Denton Michael Ghebru Gavin Glinton Ned Grabavoy Kelly Gray Michael Gustavson Matt Hatzke Ronnie O'Brien James Riley Jamil Roberts Adam Smarte Davide Somma
Toronto FC
Nana Attakora-Gyan Kilian Elkinson Hunter Freeman Gabe Gala Derek Gaudet Joey Melo Rohan Ricketts Tyler Rosenlund Carlos Ruiz Jarrod Smith Johann Smith Greg Sutton Marco Velez