Rapids Team Captain Pablo Mastroeni Among Nominees Announced for US Soccer Player of the Year

From - Futbol de Primera the official U.S. radio broadcaster in all languages of the 2006 FIFA World Cup and all FIFA tournaments released the 30 names of eligible U.S. National Team Players for the Honda Player of the Year award.

From the original list an elite group of sports journalists will vote for their top three players and the player getting the most votes will win the award later this year in Los Angeles.

Landon Donovan has won the past three awards and is also the only three-time winner.

The Honda Player of the Year Award recognizes the best player on the U.S. National Team who has played in at least 3 games during the calendar year. This year thirty (30) players have met this requirement. Created in 1991 by Futbol de Primera the Honda Player of the Year Award is celebrating its 15th Anniversary this year.

Each eligible player must have played in a minimum of three (3) games with the U.S. National Team during 2005.

A first place vote equals 3 points a second place vote is worth 2 points and a third place vote counts as 1 point. At the close of voting all of the points are tallied and the winner is the player who receives the most overall points.

Votes will be accepted until 5:00 PM Pacific Time on Friday September 16.

The winner will be announced at the annual Honda Player of the Year Award ceremony held each year in Los Angeles and will receive a new Honda Ridgeline automobile.


Goalkeepers: Kasey Keller

Defenders: Chris Albright Gregg Berhalter Carlos Bocanegra Steve Cherundolo Jimmy Conrad Cory Gibbs Frankie Hejduk Chad Marshall Oguchi Onyewu Eddie Pope Greg Vanney

Midfielders: Chris Armas DaMarcus Beasley Bobby Convey Clint Dempsey Eddie Lewis Pablo Mastroeni John O'Brien Ben Olsen Santino Quaranta Steve Ralston Claudio Reyna Kerry Zavagnin

Forwards: Brian Ching Landon Donovan Ed Johnson Brian McBride Pat Noonan Taylor Twellman Josh Wolff


Previous Winners (Year Award Won):
* Landon Donovan (200420032002)
* Earnie Stewart (2001)
* Claudio Reyna (2000)
* Kasey Keller (1999)
* Cobi Jones (1998)
* Eddie Pope (1997)
* Eric Wynalda (1996 1992)
* Alexi Lalas (1995)
* Marcelo Balboa (1994)
* Thomas Dooley (1993)
* Hugo Perez (1991)

A Burgundy Affair

Tuesday, October 17