Rapids SOCO at Timbers

Recap: Rapids SOCO Unified Team 5, Portland Timbers Special Olympics Oregon 4

In their first road match of the 2013 season, the Rapids' Special Olympics Unified team beat the Portland Timbers' Special Olympics team 5-4 on Saturday at adidas US Village, behind a hat trick from Ibsen Ojeda.

Before kick-off, the Rapids first team visited the Special Olympics athletes and offered encouragement.

Once action kicked off, the Rapids opened scoring with a goal from Mackenzie Beauvais-Nikl. Portland responded with two goals from Zane Konkolweski, taking a 2-1 that would be erased when Ibsen Ojeda scored his first goal of the match to even the score before halftime. 

Ojeda was not finished. He opened up second half scoring, giving the Rapids a 3-2 lead, a lead that was quickly erased by Portland's Josh MacClay. 

The back-and-forth continued with the Rapids reclaiming the lead on a Beauvais-Nikl goal only to concede a hard-fought goal to Kiersten Lochanowski. 

In the end it was Ojeda with the go-ahead blast to seal the victory for the Rapids in a high scoring affair. The win was the cap on a great trip to Portland that included a trip to the adidas campus and much more.

The two teams also faced off in an exhibition during halftime of the Rapids-Timbers Reserve League match. The Timbers Special Olympics team evened the series with a 1-0 victory. 

Scoring Summary:

COL - Mackenzie Beauvais-Nikl

POR - Zane Konkolweski

POR - Zane Konkolweski

COL - Ibsen Ojeda

COL - Ibsen Ojeda

POR - Josh MacClay

COL - Mackenzie Beauvais-Nikl

POR - Kiersten Lochanowski

COL - Ibsen Ojeda

Colorado Rapids Special Olympics team: #19 - Morgan Butler, #11 - Dylan Spencer, #1 - Benjamin Hollis, #15 - Azur Ewari, #23 - Ryan Yim, #45 - Sam Villela (captain), #00 - Mackenzie Beauvais-Nikl, #8 - Ibsen Ojeda

Coaches: Phil Knight, Aspen DeField, and Llima Kane

Portland Timbers Special Olympics team: #3 - Madi Tucker, #2 - Michelle Maddox, #6 - Kiersten Lochanowski, #4 - Maggie McAdams, #8 - Paige Tucker, #10 - Josh MacClay, #5 - Curtis Mason, #9 - Zane Konkolweski, Vinh To

Coaches: Mark Hanken, Karla Mason, Clark Mason, Kim Bergstrom