Chris Klute vs Vancouver
USA Today Sports Images

National Media recognizing Rapids individuals for MLS Year-End honors

On November 21 Major League Soccer will reveal the finalists for the League's year-end awards, but the voting has already happened, with players, media, and team executives each having votes.

While we're anticipating both Dillon Powers and Deshorn Brown to be finalists for the MLS Rookie of the Year award (winner will be announced on Nov. 25), we've slowly been finding out how some media have voted for that award as well as other categories. It shouldn't come as a surprise that media have Rapids individuals among the top of several honors - we've tried to keep up on accolades throughout the season:

Check out the outlets below that have published their votes so far:

The staff at has named Rapids left back Chris Klute on their MLS Best XI team, along with international stars Robbie Keane of the LA Galaxy and Tim Cahill of New York.

"An unknown when the season began, all the former Atlanta Silverback did was rise from obscurity to establish himself as one of the best fullbacks in the league. Klute locked down the starting left back slot for Colorado and proceeded to deliver an impressive seven assists, second most in the league for a defender." also lists a second and third team Best XI, which also includes Colorado goalkeeper Clint Irwin. Irwin also finished third on the site's Newcomer of the Year voting.

Earlier's staff had selected Powers as the MLS Rookie of the Year, narrowly edging Deshorn Brown. Additionally, Rapids coach Oscar Pareja was in their top three for MLS Coach of the Year.

MLS veteran scribe Steve Goff of the Washington Post also revealed who he voted for.

Goff named Deshorn Brown as the MLS Rookie of the Year, and has Oscar Pareja as the runner-up for Coach of the Year. He too, named Chris Klute to the MLS Best XI team.

Leading soccer site,, also highlighted Rapids players in his ballot.

The site picked Powers as the Rookie of the Year, followed by Brown. They also have Irwin at #3 among goalkeepers as well as MLS Newcomers, and Klute among the top Defenders of the Year.

SB Nation did one better. Each blogger from the national network had vote - and since the voting was so close, the site named Dillon Powers and Deshorn Brown the co-MLS Rookies of the Year. They'll announce their other winners in the coming days.

On Nov. 22, NBC Sports' writer were unanimous in picking Dillon Powers and Deshorn Brown as the MLS Rookie of the Year. Click here to see which writer picked which Rapids rookie as their top choice.