Bouna Coundoul Named to Senegal's Roster for African Nations Cup

DAKAR Senegal - Senegal's coach Henryk Kasperczak today named Colorado Rapids goalkeeper Bouna Coundoul to his 23-man squad that will take part in the African Nations Cup in Ghana.
Coundoul earned his first cap for Senegal just recently as he was called up to his native country's national team for matches vs. Mali and Morocco in France. Bouna saw action in goal against Mali but did not play in the match vs. Morocco.
(Read's exclusive Q&A with Bouna about his experiences with the national team from this trip online by clicking here).
Coundoul is currently in training for the tournament in Senegal with his teammates. The Lions of Teranga are set to compete in two friendlies before taking on Tunisia in their first tournament match on January 23. They also meet Angola and South Africa in the first round.
Senegal took fourth in the 2006 edition of the tournament as they lost to eventual champions Egypt in the semifinals.
This season Coundoul missed only 32 minutes of action for the Rapids. He finished third in Major League Soccer with a goals-against-average of 1.08. His 120 saves placed him tied for second in the league and his nine shutouts were the most by a Colorado ‘keeper since 2004.
Senegal may be best known for their 1-0 upset of France in the opening game of the 2002 World Cup. That team made it to the quarterfinals where they lost to Turkey in extra time. The Lions of Teranga are currently ranked no. 34 in the FIFA Rankings and are the fifth-highest ranked African team.

Senegal squad for 2008 African Nations Cup:

Goalkeepers: Tony Sylva (Lille) Bouna Coundoul (Colorado Rapids) Cheikh Tidiane Ndiaye (Creteil)

Defenders: Habib Beye (Newcastle United) Ibrahima Faye (Troyes) Guirane Ndaw (Sochaux) Abdoulaye Diagne Faye (Newcastle United) Ibrahima Sonko (Reading) Mohamed Adama Sarr (Standard Liege) Souleymane Diawara (Girondins Bordeaux) Lamine Diatta (no team)

Midfielders: Bayal Sall (St-Etienne) Pape Bouba Diop (Portsmouth) Ousmane Ndoye (Academica Coimbra) Malick Ba (Basel) Pape Waio Ndiaye (Genoa) Babacar Gueye (Metz) Diomansy Kamara (Fulham) Frederic Mendy (Bastia)

Strikers: El Hadji Diouf (Bolton Wanderers) Mamadou Niang (Olympique Marseille) Henri Camara (West Ham United) Modou Sougou (Uniao Leiria).