Rapids Announce Protected Player List for 2009 Expansion Draft

COMMERCE CITY Colo. (Monday November 23 2009) – The Colorado Rapids announced their list of 11 protected players for the 2009 MLS Expansion Draft which takes place this Wednesday November 25 at 11 a.m. MT.
With the Philadelphia Union the league’s 16th club entering the league for next season each team in MLS must make a certain amount of their players available for the draft.
Philadelphia may not claim more than one player from any given team in MLS and will select 10 players meaning that five teams will not have a player taken in the Expansion Draft.
Goalkeeper: Matt Pickens
Defenders: Julien Baudet Cory Gibbs Kosuke Kimura Drew Moor
Midfielders: Colin Clark Nick LaBrocca Pablo Mastroeni Jamie Smith
Forwards: Conor Casey Omar Cummings
In addition to this list Rapids midfielder Ciaran O’Brien and defender Rob Valentino are automatically protected by the Rapids due to their Generation adidas status.
Goalkeepers: Preston Burpo Steward Ceus
Defenders: Ty Harden Jordan Harvey Scott Palguta Michael Holody
Midfielders: Mehdi Ballouchy Greg Dalby Jacob Peterson
Forwards: Facundo Diz Pat Noonan Ross Schunk
2009 MLS Expansion Draft Rules
Senior Roster
• Teams may protect 11 players between their Senior and their Developmental Roster.
• If the Player’s contract expires at the end of 2009 he will still be considered part of the Team’s Senior Roster.
• If a Team protects a player it is not obligated to exercise the player’s option. It may renegotiate a new budget number for the player as in previous years.
• If a player retires he will not be a part of the Senior Roster but his Team will lose its right of first refusal to him should he ultimately decide to play.
Developmental Roster
• Players on a Team’s Developmental Roster other than Generation adidas players who have not been graduated at the end of the 2009 season and Home Grown Players will be part of the expansion draft.
• Generation adidas players (who have not been graduated at the end of the 2009 season) and Home Grown players are automatically protected (teams do not have to use a protected slot on them)
• If Philadelphia selects a Developmental Player it must offer him a Senior Roster position and he must be on Philadelphia’s Senior Roster as of Roster Compliance Date.
International Players
• Teams are restricted in the number of International player(s) that they may make available per the table set forth below.
• For purposes of this expansion process for US-based teams any non-domestic US player would count as an International and for Toronto FC any non-domestic US player or non-domestic Canadian player would count as an International.
Designated Players
• Designated Players do not have to be protected unless the player has a no trade clause in which case he must be protected.
Maximum Player Loss
• Once a player has been claimed from a Team’s non-protected roster that team is eliminated from the expansion draft and may not lose any further players.
Right to Renegotiate
• Philadelphia will have the right to renegotiate a drafted player’s salary (either up or down) without having to place such player on waivers or giving his previous Team a right of first refusal.
• On the first day of the Discovery/Allocation Period Philadelphia will have priority over players who played professionally in the USL First or Second Division in 2009 subject to another MLS team’s right of first refusal.
• The expansion draft will be 10 rounds.
• Teams may make available a number of international players equal to their total number of international players minus 3 provided that if a team has 3 or less international players it may make available not more than 1.
Chivas USA
Bornstein Jonathan
Braun Justin
Flores Jorge
Padilla Jesus
Galindo Maykel
Lahoud Michael
Kljestan Sacha
Nagamura Paulo
Thornton Zach
Cuesta Yamith
Santos Maicon
Chicago Fire
Busch Jon
Conde Wilman
Brown C.J.
Mapp Justin
McBride Brian
Nyarko Patrick
Pappa Marco
Pause Logan
Thorrington John
Robinson Dasan
Ward Tim
Columbus Crew
Brunner Eric
Carroll Brian
Ekpo Emmanuel
Gaven Eddie
Hesmer Will
Lenhart Steven
Marshall Chad
Moffat Adam
O'Rourke Danny
Rogers Robbie
Schelotto Guillermo
FC Dallas
Benitez Jair
Chavez Marvin
Cunningham Jeff
Davies Kyle
Ferreira David
Harris Atiba
Hernandez Daniel
Ihemelu Ugo
John George
McCarty Dax
Pearce Heath
D.C. United
Burch Marc
Carreiro Fred
Jakovic Dejan
James Julius
Moreno Jaime
Namoff Bryan
Pontius Chris
Quaranta Santino
Simms Clyde
Szetela Danny
Wallace Rodney
Houston Dynamo
Ashe Corey
Boswell Bobby
Cameron Geoff
Ching Brian
Davis Brad
Hall Tally
Hainault Andrew
Holden Stuart
Mullan Brian
Oduro Dominic
Weaver Cameron
Kansas City Wizards
Arnaud Davy
Conrad Jimmy
Harrington Michael
Hercegfalvi Zoltan
Jewsbury Jack
Kamara Kei
Leathers Jonathan
Lopez Claudio
Souter Kevin
Wolff Josh
Zusi Graham
Los Angeles Galaxy
Beckham David
Berhalter Gregg
Birchall Chris
Buddle Edson
DeLagarza AJ
Donovan Landon
Franklin Sean
Gonzalez Omar
Kovalenko Dema
Magee Mike
Ricketts Donovan
New England Revolution
Alston Kevin
Barnes Darrius
Dube Mkhokheli
Joseph Shalrie
Larentowicz Jeff
Mansally Abdoulie
Nyassi Sainey
Osei Emmanuel
Ralston Steve
Reis Matt
Twellman Taylor
New York Red Bulls
Angel Juan Pablo
Borman Danleigh
Coundoul Bouna
Goldthwaite Kevin
Hall Jeremy
Johnson Carlos
Kandji Macoumba
Mendes Carlos
Obster Ernst
Richards Dane
Stammler Seth
Real Salt Lake
Beckerman Kyle
Beltran Tony
Borchers Nat
Espindola Fabian
Findley Robbie
Johnson Will
Morales Javier
Olave Jamison
Rimando Nick
Seitz Chris
Wingert Chris
San Jose Earthquakes
Alvarez Arturo
Burling Bobby
Cannon Joe
Corrales Ramiro
Glenn Cornell
Hernandez Jason
Johnson Ryan
Leitch Chris
Moreira Andre Luiz
Sanchez Ramon
McDonald Brandon
Seattle Sounders FC
Alonso Osvaldo
Evans Brad
Gonzalez Leo
Hurtado Jhon Kennedy
Ianni Patrick
Jaqua Nate
Keller Kasey
Ljungberg Freddie
Marshall Tyrone
Montero Fredy
Zakuani Steve
Toronto FC
Attakora-Gyan Nana
Barrett Chad
Brennan Jim
Cronin Sam
de Guzman Julian
DeRosario Dwayne
Gomez Emmanuel
Sanyang Amadou
Serioux Adrian
White O'Brian
Wynne Marvell
Generation adidas Graduates
Alston Kevin
Avila Eric
Beltran Tony
Bowen Tristan
Colaluca Nico
Cruz Daniel
Espinoza Roger
Frei Stefan
Gonzalez Omar
Guarda Bruno
Hall Jeremy
Husidic Baggio
Ibrahim Fuad
Igwe Amaechi
Lambo Josh
Marosevic Peri
Myers Chance
Nimo Alex
Nyarko Patrick
O'Brien Ciaran
Seitz Chris
Shea Brek
Valentino Rob
Wallace Anthony
Wallace Rodney
Zakuani Steve

A Burgundy Affair

Tuesday, October 17