Rapids Fall to FC Dallas 3-1 in First Road Game of 2007

FRISCO TX (Sunday April 22 2007)- The Colorado Rapids lost for the first time this season 3-1 to FC Dallas at Pizza Hut Park today.
(To watch video highlights from this match click here).

Greg Vanney headed a ball off the line in the 15th minute after a Dallas corner kick. Bouna Coundoul had punched the ball but was caught out of position on the rebound forcing the save from the former Dallas player.

Jovan Kirovski nearly put the Rapids up in the 21st minute. Herculez Gomez sent in a low cross from the left side of the field and Kirovski with his back to goal flicked the ball just wide of the near post.

Ramon Nunez gave Dallas a 1-0 lead in the 29th minute. Dax McCarty made a run down the middle of the field at Brandon Prideaux. Nunez joined from the near side received the pass and slotted it past the outstretched arms of Coundoul.

Kirovski equalized for the Rapids in the 34th minute on a counterattack. Niko Hernandez played a ball back to Terry Cooke who weighted a bouncing ball into the Dallas penalty area where Kirovski slipped past Alex Yi and put the ball into the net.

Colorado defender Mike Petke almost put the visitors up in the 44th minute. The veteran defender slid to get onto the end of a free kick but the ball bounced off the crossbar.

In the 59th minute Vanney put a ball just over the crossbar off of a free kick pass from Herculez.

Coundoul came up big for the Rapids in the 73rd minute. A Juan Toja free kick was on its way to the upper 90 when the Senegalese ‘keeper redirected it out for a corner kick.

Nunez put Dallas back in front in the 78th minute off a free kick. He bent the ball around the Colorado wall and Coundoul couldn’t get enough to keep it out of the goal.

Dominic Oduro scored Dallas’ final goal with an assist from Kenny Cooper in second half stoppage time. With the Rapids pushing for the equalizer Oduro put the game out of reach.

The Rapids will next take on rivals RealSaltLake on Monday April 30 at 7 p.m. MT in Salt Lake City. The two-time Rocky Mountain Cup winners Colorado will look to take the lead in the third year of the competition.

Scoring Summary:
DAL- Nunez (McCarty) 29

COL- Kirovski (Cooke) 34

DAL- Nunez (unassisted) 78

DAL- Oduro (Cooper) 90+


Colorado Rapids – Bouna Coundoul Brandon Prideaux (Dan Gargan 33) Ugo Ihemelu Mike Petke (Conor Casey 81) Greg Vanney Terry Cooke Kyle Beckerman Pablo Mastroeni Herculez Gomez Jovan Kirovski (Jacob Peterson 67) Nicolas Hernandez
Substitutes Not Used: Zach Thornton Nico Colaluca Daniel Wasson Chris Wingert

FC Dallas – Shaka Hislop Drew Moor Clarence Goodson Alex Yi Chris Gbandi Dax McCarty (Bobby Rhine 88) Ramon Nunez (Arturo Alvarez 81) Aaron Pitchkolan Juan Toja Kenny Cooper Carlos Ruiz (Dominic Oduro 68)

Substitutes Not Used: Ray Burse Abe Thompson Blake Wagner Anthony Wallace

Misconduct Summary:
COL- Beckerman (Caution) 7

DAL- Ruiz (Caution) 26

DAL- Moor (Caution) 58

DAL- Goodson (Caution) 60

DAL- Pitchkolan (Caution) 61

COL- Mastroeni (Caution) 77

Referee: Ricardo Salazar

Referees Assts.: Chris Strickland Michael Salyers

Fourth Official: Jair Marrufo

Attendance: 20500