Rapids Midfielders Kyle Beckerman and Pablo Mastroeni Called Into US National Team Camp

DENVER (Tuesday December 19 2006) - Two members of the Colorado Rapids Kyle Beckerman and Pablo Mastroeni were named to U.S. Men’s National Team head coach Bob Bradley’s first training camp roster which will begin workouts Jan. 4 at U.S. Soccer's National Training Center at The Home Depot Center in Carson Calif.

The group will prepare for the USA’s first match of 2007 a friendly against Denmark on Jan. 20 at The Home Depot Center. The match will be broadcast live on ESPN2 beginning at 2:50 p.m. MT.

"This is a great opportunity to get a first-hand look at a wide variety of domestic-based players as we begin a new World Cup cycle said Bradley. "Along with some experienced players we have quite a few players who will be getting their first exposure to the national team."

One of those first timers is Beckerman who received first call up to the full U.S. Men’s National Team after performing for the United States at the U-17 U-20 and U-23 levels. The Maryland native helped his country reach the semifinals of the 1999 FIFA U-17 World Championship in New Zealand. Beckerman scored a goal and played in all five games for the U-23 National Team as they attempted to qualify for the Olympics in 2004.

Mastroeni comes into the training camp as the second-most capped of all the 29 players with 50 international appearances five of those coming on soccer’s grandest stage the World Cup. The role of veteran is new to the Rapids’ team captain as he went to the 2002 World Cup without a single qualifying appearance.

Other notables on the training camp roster are World Cup veterans Chris Albright Jimmy Conrad Clint Dempsey and Landon Donovan.


Goalkeepers (4) – Joe Cannon (Los Angeles Galaxy) Brad Guzan (Chivas USA) Troy Perkins (D.C. United) Matt Reis (New England Revolution)

Defenders (9) – Chris Albright (Los Angeles Galaxy) Bobby Boswell (D.C. United) Jonathan Bornstein (Chivas USA) Jimmy Conrad (Kansas City Wizards) Bryan Namoff (D.C. United) Michael Parkhurst (New England Revolution) Heath Pearce (FC Nordsjælland) Dasan Robinson (Chicago Fire) Eddie Robinson (Houston Dynamo)

Midfielders (11) – Kyle Beckerman (Colorado Rapids) Brian Carroll (D.C. United) Ricardo Clark (Houston Dynamo) Brad Davis (Houston Dynamo) Clint Dempsey (New England Revolution) Landon Donovan (Los Angeles Galaxy) Joshua Gros (D.C. United) Sacha Kljestan (Chivas USA) Justin Mapp (Chicago Fire) Pablo Mastroeni (Colorado Rapids) Brian Mullan (Houston Dynamo)

Forwards (5) –Kenny Cooper (FC Dallas) Alecko Eskandarian (D.C. United) Nate Jaqua (Los Angeles Galaxy) Chris Rolfe (Chicago Fire) Taylor Twellman (New England Revolution)