Rapids Reserves Are 2006 MLS Reserve Divsion Champions!

BROOMFIELD Colo. (Sunday Aug. 13 2006) – Colin Clark and Clint Mathis both had a goal and two assists as the Colorado Rapids Reserves beat the New York Red Bulls Reserves 3-0 Sunday and won the MLS Reserve Division in the process.

The Rapids Reserves came into the game knowing a win would clinch the reserve title in its second year and got perfect goalkeeping from Matt Jordan and Bouna Coundoul who combined for a shutout for the third time this year.

Jordan kept the game at zeros in the 30th minute with a nice save. Blake Camp shot a Red Bulls freekick from about 25 yards out and Jordan was forced to knock the ball over the top of the net.

In the 32nd minute the Rapids' Jordan Harvey made a run from his defensive midfield position but his shot was saved by Mike Behonick.

The Rapids Reserves got on the scoreboard for the first time in the 35th minute. After earning a restart near the Red Bulls’ penalty area Clark took a pass from Mathis and drilled a left-footed shot into the back of the net for what would be the game winner.

Just four minutes later the Rapids Reserves struck again. This time it was Clark making the pass to Mathis who knocked home for the 2-0 lead.

In the final minutes of the first half the Rapids Reserves had a few chances but all of them were saved or went just wide.

Six minutes into the second half Sasha Gotsmanov put the Rapids Reserves up 3-0. Again Clark and Mathis had a hand in the play as their passes lead to the Belarusian’s header goal.

Coundoul preserved the shutout for the Rapids Reserves with a diving save in the 76th minute and after the final whistle the new 2006 MLS Reserve Division Champions celebrated with the Championship Trophy in front of all the fans who had made the trip down to watch the match at Broomfield Commons Park.

Scoring Summary:
COL – Clark (Mathis) 35
COL – Mathis (Clark Tarley) 39
COL – Gotsmanov (Clark Mathis) 51

Colorado Rapids – Matt Jordan (Bouna Coundoul 46) Matt Crawford (Bryan Eisenbraun 55) Chris Wingert Stephen Keel Jordan Harvey Sasha Gotsmanov Daniel Wasson Clint Mathis Colin Calrk Fabrice Noel (Alain Nkong 71) Melvin Tarley (Aaron King 58)
Substitutes Not Used: Luke Vercollone

New York Red Bulls – Mike Behonick Taylor Graham Steve Jolley Marvel Wynne Tod Dunivant Blake Camp (Hugo 71) Joe Vide Mike Magee (John Wolyniec 46) David Aruizu (Chris Corchran 52) Jarrod Laventure (Brian Cvilikas 58) Jordan Cila
Substitutes Not Used: None

Misconduct Summary:
COL – Wasson (Caution) 12

A Burgundy Affair

Tuesday, October 17