Jamie Smith marked by Scott Palguta at training

Rapids make no selections in first stage of 2012 MLS Re-Entry Draft

Commerce City, Colo. – The first stage of the 2012 MLS Re-Entry draft is complete and the Colorado Rapids passed with their pick, choosing not to select any players. Additionally, none of the eight Rapids players participating in the draft were chosen by other clubs, allowing Colorado to continue negotiating ahead of Stage 2 on December 14.

The Rapids had previously announced that Conor Casey, Tyrone Marshall, Scott Palguta, Ian Joyce, Joseph Nane, and Tyson Wahl are not part of the club's plans for 2013, however that the club was looking to bring back Marvell Wynne, Hunter Freeman, and Jamie Smith. Wynne opted out of the draft, keeping Colorado as his top choice rather than risk being selected by another team. By entering the Re-Entry Draft, Freeman and Smith were exposed to being selected by another club at their current options. Since neither of them were selected, Rapids technical staff can continue conversations with the players to decide their status for the 2013 season.

Only one club made a move in Stage 1, with the Chicago Fire selecting Maicon Santos, a Brazilian forward who played in 2012 with D.C. United. Stage 2 of the Re-Entry Draft will be held a week from today on December 14, when clubs can select players both under and out of contract, and extend a new Bona Fide Offer within seven days. Should the player reject the offer, the drafting club will hold the right of first refusal for that player in MLS. COMPLETE RULES

As with Stage 1, Stage 2 of the Re-Entry Draft will be conducted in the same order as the traditional Waiver Draft, with Colorado holding the sixth pick.

Download the MLS app to get the latest Rapids news, highlights and more!

Download Now!