2013 MLS Supporters' Shield

New York Red Bulls win MLS Supporters' Shield with best record in 2013

NEW YORK (October 27, 2013) – With a 5-2 win over the Chicago Fire Sunday evening at sold-out Red Bull Arena, the New York Red Bulls secured the 2013 Supporters’ Shield. The Supporters’ Shield, introduced by organized fan groups, is awarded annually to the supporters of the team with the best regular-season record in MLS.
As the winner of the Supporters’ Shield, the Red Bulls claim home-field advantage throughout the MLS Cup Playoffs and are awarded an automatic berth into the 2014-2015 CONCACAF Champions League.
This is the Red Bulls’ first Supporters’ Shield award, including their time as the MetroStars, and it ends their run as the only original MLS club not to have won a significant trophy since the inception of the League in 1996.
Of 17 clubs to hoist the Supporters’ Shield trophy, six have gone on to win MLS Cup, one has lost in the final, five have been eliminated in the Conference Championships, and the remaining five fell in the Conference Semifinals.
The Supporters’ Shield represents a history unlike many others in sport. The trophy was conceptualized by fans in the early years of Major League Soccer and unveiled at the inaugural Supporters’ Summit prior to MLS Cup in 1998.
Major League Soccer Supporters’ Shield winners
2013:   New York Red Bulls (17-9-8, 59 pts.)
2012:   San Jose Earthquakes (19-6-9, 66 pts.)
2011:   LA Galaxy (19-5-10, 67 pts.)
2010:   LA Galaxy (18-7-5, 59 pts.)
2009:   Columbus Crew (13-7-10, 49 pts.)
2008:   Columbus Crew (17-7-6, 57 pts.)
2007:   D.C. United (16-7-7, 55 pts.)
2006:   D.C. United (15-7-10, 55 pts.)
2005:   San Jose Earthquakes (18-4-10, 64 pts.)
2004:   Columbus Crew (12-5-13, 49 pts.)
2003:   Chicago Fire (15-7-8, 53 pts.)
2002:   LA Galaxy (16-9-3, 51 pts.)
2001:   Miami Fusion (16-5-5, 53 pts.)
2000:   Kansas City Wizards (16-7-9, 57 pts.)
1999:   D.C. United (23-9-0, 57 pts.)
1998:   LA Galaxy (24-8-0, 68 pts.)
1997:   D.C. United* (21-11-0, 55 pts.)
1996:   Tampa Bay Mutiny* (20-12-0, 58 pts.)
*Awarded retroactively

Download the MLS app to get the latest Rapids news, highlights and more!

Download Now!