Five Rapids Players Called Into US National Team Camp

COMMERCE CITY CO (Tuesday November 11 2008) – US Men’s National Team Head Coach Bob Bradley announced today that he has called in five Colorado Rapids players to the US National Team training camp taking place at Dick’s Sporting Goods Park ahead of next Wednesday’s historic World Cup Qualification Match vs. Guatemala.

National team veterans Pablo Mastroeni Cory Gibbs and Conor Casey will be joined by first-timers Nick LaBrocca and Colin Clark.

Mastroeni has earned 61 caps with the National Team (the most of any player in the US camp) and has played in both the 2002 and 2006 World Cups. Colorado’s team captain has also been a part of three CONCACAF Gold Cup champion sides.

This will be Gibbs’ first training camp since he injured his knee in the run up to the 2006 World Cup and was unable to accompany the team to Germany. The Florida native has 19 caps under his belt all earned between 2003 and 2006

Returning to the National Team for the first time since 2005 will be Denver hometown hero Casey. After an impressive 2000 Olympics in Sydney Casey’s National Team career was plagued with injuries after he earned eight caps with the senior team.

LaBrocca and Clark are being called into their first training camps with the senior national team. Both players are coming off MLS campaigns where they set personal bests in many categories including games played and goals scored.

These five players will train with the USMNT until Saturday following which Bradley will announce the roster for Wednesday's match against Guatemala.

There are still tickets available for next Wednesday’s historic match at Kickoff is set for 6 p.m. MT next Wednesday November 19 at Dick’s Sporting Goods Park.

U.S. Men's National Team Training Camp Roster
Dick's Sporting Goods Park
Commerce City Colorado
Nov. 12-15
GOALKEEPERS (3): Brian Edwards (Toronto FC) Troy Perkins (Valerenga IF) Matt Pickens (out of contract)

DEFENDERS (6): Jonathan Bornstein (Chivas USA) Sean Franklin (Los Angeles Galaxy) Cory Gibbs (Colorado Rapids) Clarence Goodson (IK Start) Drew Moor (FC Dallas) Michael Parkhurst (New England Revolution)

MIDFIELDERS (5): Colin Clark (Colorado Rapids) Ricardo Clark (Houston Dynamo) Sacha Kljestan (Chivas USA) Nick LaBrocca (Colorado Rapids) Pablo Mastroeni (Colorado Rapids)
FORWARDS (5): Davy Arnaud (Kansas City Wizards) Chad Barrett (Toronto FC) Conor Casey (Colorado Rapids) Brian Ching (Houston Dynamo) Kenny Cooper (FC Dallas)