NCAA: Maryland's Garey and Portland's Sinclair Are 2005 Men's and Women's Hermann Trophy Winners

(From ESPNSoccerNet News Services) - Senior forward Jason Garey of the University of Maryland and senior forward Christine Sinclair of the University of Portland are the winners of the 2005 Missouri Athletic Club's Hermann Trophy.

The Hermann Trophy is presented to the top female and male players in NCAA Division I soccer based on a vote of Division I coaches who are current members of the National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA). Their selections were announced live to a national television audience on ESPNews.

The winning duo shares a couple of things in common; they each helped their team win the national championship and they have each been named the NSCAA/adidas Scholar Athlete of the Year.

Garey (Gonzales La.) caps off a tremendous season by winning college soccer's top honor. In 2005 he helped lead Maryland to the school's first NCAA championship since 1968. Garey led the nation in scoring with 22 goals and finished his career as the school's all-time leading goalscorer with 60.

Fueled by Garey's offensive fireworks the University of Maryland entered the 2005 NCAA Tournament as the No. 1 seed. He scored several big goals during the Terrapins march to the national championship. In Maryland's 4-1 victory over SMU in the semifinal match Garey scored two goals just 15 seconds apart to establish the record for fastest consecutive goals in NCAA Tournament history.

The 2005 Atlantic Coast Conference Offensive Player of the Year Garey is a two-time NSCAA/adidas All-America selection and was a semifinalist for the M.A.C. Hermann Trophy in 2004. The 6-foot 180 lbs. forward was not only productive throughout his four-year career he proved to be durable. Garey played in 90 of the 91 games Maryland has played since 2002.

Garey scored in classroom as well as on the soccer field. He was named the NSCAA/adidas Scholar Athlete of the Year becoming just the third men's player to win both National Player of the Year and Scholar Athlete of the Year in the same year. Garey is the first player from Maryland to win Player of the Year honors.

The other two finalists were Indiana University senior midfielder Brian Plotkin (Lisle Ill.) and University of New Mexico senior forward Jeff Rowland (Albuquerque N.M.).

Sinclair (Burnaby British Columbia) is the winner of college soccer's top prize for the second consecutive year joining Mia Hamm (1992 and '93) and Cindy Parlow (1997 and '98) as the only back-to-back female winners of the M.A.C. Hermann Trophy.

She scored 39 goals during in 2005 breaking the single-season record of 37 set in 1987 by SMU's Lisa Cole. Sinclair led the Pilots to an undefeated season and the national championship Portland's second in four years and was named West Coast Conference Player of the Year for the third time in her career.

The other two finalists for the women's award were Notre Dame senior forward Katie Thorlakson (Langley B.C.) and Penn State senior forward Tiffany Weimer (North Haven Conn.).

Download the MLS app to get the latest Rapids news, highlights and more!

Download Now!