Rapids Battle to 0-0 Draw Against FAU

BOCA RATON FL (Friday February 15 2008) – The Colorado Rapids and Florida Atlantic University Owls played to a 0-0 draw in Boca Raton Florida tonight in the first competitive match of the Rapids' 2008 Spring Training.

The game was played in three 30 minute periods on the FAU campus. The Rapids played a 4-4-2 in each period. Mehdi Ballouchy was a late scratch with a strained muscle in his leg.

In the first period the Rapids controlled the ball for the first 1:20 without the Owls touching it. Colin Clark had two shots on goal in the first 10 minutes but both were saved by the FAU ‘keeper. Justin Hughes made a great save on a break-away as he dove to the left and got his hand to deflect and slow the ball. In the final minute of the first period Omar Cummings forced another save from the goalie with his shot on target.

Nico Colaluca had the first shot on goal in the second period but the goalkeeper was up to the task again. Chase Hilgenbrinck had his header saved as well a little bit later. Ciaran O’Brien the Rapids’ first round draft pick had the best chance of the game when he dribbled past two defenders but he sent his shot over the crossbar. Hughes was forced to make another save late in the period.

In the final period the Rapids switched goalkeepers and Mike Graczyk made an easy save off of an FAU free kick. Colorado’s best chance in the period came when O’Brien put Daniel Antunez through behind the defense but the FAU ‘keeper slid out to grab the ball and end the opportunity.

The Rapids are scheduled to play their second game of the preseason tomorrow at their hotel in Sunrise Florida against Marathon of Honduras at 5 p.m. (ET).

Scoring Summary:


Colorado Rapids:

First 30 minutes – Justin Hughes Kosuke Kimura Facundo Erpen Stephen Keel Jose Burciaga Jr. Terry Cooke Nick LaBrocca John DiRaimondo Colin Clark Omar Cummings Jacob Peterson

Second 30 minutes – Justin Hughes Brandon Prideaux Jordan Harvey Cesar Zambrano Chase Hilgenbrinck Nico Colaluca Brian Grazier Ciaran O’Brien Scott Campbell Niko Hernandez Jovan Kirovski

Third 30 minutes – Mike Graczyk Brandon Prideaux Cesar Zambrano Cliff Wilmes Jordan Harvey Chase Hilgenbrinck Nico Colaluca Brian Grazier Ciaran O’Brien Scott Campbell Daniel Antunez Stan Terlescki (t)

(t)- Trialist