Shalrie Joseph was the Revs 14th pick in the 2002 SuperDraft
Getty Images

Rapids hold 14th overall pick in Thursday's SuperDraft

Commerce City, Colo. - Could the next Shalrie Joseph be available when the Colorado Rapids take their turn in the 2012 MLS SuperDraft? Or maybe George John? Or what about Carey Talley? Those are the type's of players new Rapids coach Oscar Pareja and Technical Director Paul Bravo hope are there when they decide on 14th overall pick at the annual draft on Thursday.

This year's SuperDraft, which will be broadcast live on ESPN2 beginning at 10:00 AM MT/12:00 noon ET, will include two rounds and 38 overall selections. The Rapids have their natural 1st Round SuperDraft selection, 14th overall, but traded their natural 2nd Round pick to the San Jose Earthquakes in April 2010 in exchange for forward Quincy Amarikwa.

Arguably the best player taken with the 14th overall pick in the first 16 drafts was MLS All-Star and Best XI midfielder Joseph (pictured above), who was picked by the New England Revolution in the 2002 SuperDraft out of St. John's University. FC Dallas selected much talked about defender George John with the 14th pick in 2009 out of the University of Washington. Other notable 14th overall picks were Carey Talley (1999 by DC United - North Carolina), Ned Grabavoy (2004 by LA Galaxy - Indiana), and Devin Barclay (2001 by Tampa Bay - Project 40).

Since the SuperDraft used to include four rounds, previous trades involving 3rd and 4th round SuperDraft picks become the 1st and 2nd picks in the Supplemental Draft. A four-round Supplemental Draft will take place via conference call on Tuesday, January 17, 2012.

In the Supplemental Draft, the Rapids have their natural 3rd and 4th round picks - 14th in each round. Colorado traded the 1st round Supplemental Draft pick to Toronto in exchange for midfielder Joseph Nane in December 2010 and the 2nd Round Supplemental selection to FC Dallas for defender Anthony Wallace in July 2010.

For the 8th consecutive year, the SuperDraft will be held in conjunction with the National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA) Convention.


2011: Chivas USA - Victor Estupinian (LDU Quito - Ecuador)
2010: NYRB - Austin da Luz (Wake Forest)
2009: FC Dallas - George John (Washington)
2008: RSL - David Horst (Old Dominion)
2007: FC Dallas - Adbus Ibrahim (U.S. U-17s)
2006: Chicago - Jeff Curtin (Georgetown)
2005: Chivas USA - Christian Jimenez (South Florida)
2004: LA Galaxy - Ned Grabavoy (Indiana)
2003: DC United - Doug Warren (Clemson)
2002: NE Revolution - Shalrie Joseph (St. John's)
2001: Tampa Bay Mutiny - Devin Barclay (Project 40)
2000: NE Revolution - Rusty Pierce (UNC-Greensboro)
1999: Kansas City - John Wilson (Clemson)
1998: DC United - Carey Talley (North Carolina)
1997: San Jose - Jason Annichero (Santa Clara)
1996: Inaugural Draft - SJ picked goalkeeper David Kramer (Monterrey Bay - USISL)...College Draft - Tampa Bay took Casey Sweeney (Butler).