Colorado Rapids announce roster moves ahead of the 2020 season  -

The Colorado Rapids announced today several roster updates ahead of the 2020 season. The club exercised contract options on six players, which in addition to the 15 contracts already guaranteed for next season, currently brings the Burgundy and Blue’s roster to 21 players ahead of their 25th MLS season.

The Rapids picked up the options of forwards Jonathan Lewis, Andre Shinyashiki, Niki Jackson and Sam Nicholson; and defenders Abdul Rwatubyaye and Deklan Wynne.

Fifteen players are on guaranteed contracts heading into next season: goalkeeper Clint Irwin; defenders Lalas Abubakar, Sebastian Anderson, Kortne Ford, Keegan Rosenberry, Auston Trusty,Axel Sjöberg, Sam Vines and Danny Wilson; midfielders Kellyn Acosta, Cole Bassett and Jack Price; and forwards Matt Hundley, Kei Kamara and Diego Rubio.

Three players from the Rapids’ 2019 roster are out of contract: goalkeeper Andre Rawls and midfielders Nicolás Mezquida and Dillon Serna. The club is finalizing terms on new contracts with Mezquida and Rawls.

Additionally, the Rapids have declined the contract options of defenders Kofi Opare, Tommy Smith and Sam Raben.

2020 COLORADO RAPIDS ROSTER (as of Thursday, November 21)

GOALKEEPERS (1): Clint Irwin

DEFENDERS (10): Lalas Abubakar, Sebastian Anderson, Kortne Ford, Abdul Rwatubyaye, Keegan Rosenberry, Auston Trusty, Axel Sjöberg, Sam Vines, Danny Wilson, Deklan Wynne

MIDFIELDERS (3): Kellyn Acosta, Cole Bassett, Jack Price

FORWARDS (7):  Matt Hundley, Kei Kamara, Jonathan Lewis, Niki Jackson, Sam Nicholson, Diego Rubio, Andre Shinyashiki